Authentic Professional profile- Is a resume enough? (Topic 3)

Is an authentic online professional profile important? How does it affect me in the future in terms of me getting a job? Such questions flooded my head as I read the topic.


I never considered the importance of having an authentic professional profile or even managing my personal online data. That was until I read the article that struck me that such online data can be of good use to me in the future. On the other hand if not managed well it can come back to haunt me.

Screen Shot 2015-11-05 at 6.55.56 pm

Screenshot from( https://www.jobvite.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/10/Jobvite_SocialRecruiting_Survey2014.pdf)

It is necessary to have a professional profile especially on websites such as LinkedIn, where there are many job opportunities available. This would be a perfect platform for an individual to have their nets cast wide. In society now, it is not just the résumé that counts, social media is another way to be hired and to be a potential candidate to open job slots. As seen in the screenshot, industries have started to recruit mainly online; hence it would be ideal to create a “brand” image to market yourself.


However, to maintain such a professional image, it is important that your identity on other social media platform has to be either “decent” or private and not within reach of your employer or anyone that is not approved to gain access.

This is especially true as one’s online identity is closely linked to their reputation. Hence it is important that the pictures and status posted must be carefully thought out as it may come back to haunt them.

Screen Shot 2015-11-05 at 6.59.20 pm

Screenshot from (http://moocs.southampton.ac.uk/websci/2014/03/13/ill-tweet-job-spec-snap-cv/)

An example would a PR boss caught posting a racist remark on her twitter by a blogger instead of her boss. Her actions came back to haunt her in the worst possible way as she eventually lost her job and reputation. This shows that the things that are posted online are beyond easy to acquire; and comments or pictures posted with an intention of a joke can be used to ruin your reputation.


This video would show link between online identity and reputation and how it can affect the individual.

Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v4DnJ7rOSsE

Through this video it shows how social media platforms can affect one’s reputation in both a positive and negative way. Therefore having an online profile is important however; it is necessary to ensure that other private social media platforms are either kept “clean” or locked to ensure that one’s reputation would not be affected.

(403 Words)

Reference:

Anon, (2015). [online] Available at: https://www.jobvite.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/10/Jobvite_SocialRecruiting_Survey2014.pdf [Accessed 5 Nov. 2015].

Harris, L. and Harris, L. (2014). Using social media in your job search – Web Science MOOC. [online] Web Science MOOC. Available at: http://moocs.southampton.ac.uk/websci/2014/03/13/ill-tweet-job-spec-snap-cv/ [Accessed 5 Nov. 2015].

Panopto, (2015). LinkedIn 08 August 2012 at 10:11:02. [online] Available at: http://coursecast.soton.ac.uk/Panopto/Pages/Viewer.aspx?id=2caea677-5fec-4c1a-9ad3-70320d724655 [Accessed 5 Nov. 2015].

Ronson, J. (2015). How One Stupid Tweet Blew Up Justine Sacco’s Life. [online] Nytimes.com. Available at: http://www.nytimes.com/2015/02/15/magazine/how-one-stupid-tweet-ruined-justine-saccos-life.html?_r=2 [Accessed 5 Nov. 2015].

4 thoughts on “Authentic Professional profile- Is a resume enough? (Topic 3)

  1. Shannon says:

    Hi Rachel!

    I have to say that I am just like you! I never thought of the importance of managing a professional online profile. Furthermore, I have never once entered the LinkedIn site before, and looking from the screenshot you have, I could hardly believe that it is the most common social media used to hire employees these days. I feel that I need to start profiling myself on my LinkedIn profile as soon as possible!

    I am always once against employers invading into my personal profile, cause what I do in my personal life may not accurately reflect who am I when I am being serious at work. Do you think that by just locking or privating your profile could stop your future or current employers from invading into your personal profile? This is a question that has always been on my mind, thus I do try to be mindful of what I post, or get tagged by, on my personal accounts. The internet is never safe after all!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. BackToReality says:

      Hello Shannon!(:
      Thank you for the comment!

      Hmm.. I personally believe that one of the ways of minimising the chances of letting a future employer to view my personal space online is to either lock or private it.

      However, in this technology age where there are different ways to access online profiles easily, even the locked ones, it is important to be save than to be sorry.

      I have to agree that the internet is never a safe domain, hence in order not to place ourselves in a situation whereby our reputation would be tarnished, we should be mindful of the things that we post online. This is the very least that we can do to protect ourselves.

      I hope this helps to answer your question!(:

      Like

Leave a Reply

